The 2018 Korea Popular Music Awards Winners

Published Categorized as Kpop

The 2018 Korea Popular Music Awards has held its first ceremony ever on December 20, 2018 at at the Ilsan KINTEX.

The awards show gained attraction because it was organized by the Korea Singers Association, the Korea Entertainment Producer’s Association, the Recording Industry Association of Korea, the Federation of Korean Music Performers, and the Korea Music Copyright Association.

The awards show also boasted a great lineup of performers and attendees including Wanna One, Red Velvet, MAMAMOO, BTOB, NCT 127, Kwon Byung Ho, The Boyz, Roy Kim, MOMOLAND, Ben, Simon Dominic, Shaun, Super Junior, (G)I-DLE, Oh My Girl, Jang Deok Cheol, Chungha, Tae Jin Ah and Kangnam, and PENTAGON.

The event was hosted by Super Junior’s Leeteuk and actress Jin Se Yeon.

Here is the list of the winners:

Rookie of the Year: (G)I-DLE, The Boyz
Bonsang (Mainprize): MAMAMOO, Oh My Girl, Roy Kim, Jang Deok Cheol, NCT 127, MOMOLAND, BTOB, TWICE, Red Velvet, Wanna One, BTS
Indie Award: Shaun
Hip Hop Award: Simon Dominic
OST Award: Ben
Ballad Award: BTOB
R&B Award: Urban Zakapa
Group Dance Award: Red Velvet
Producer Award: Starship Entertainment’s Kim Shi Dae
Popular Performance Award (for instrumental performances): Kwon Byung Ho
Popular Singing Performance Award: PENTAGON
Popularity Award: Wanna One, EXO
Olleh TV Best Artist: Wanna One’s “Wanna Travel”
Solo Dance Award: Chungha
Hallyu Performance Award: Super Junior

Thanks to You Award: Cho Yong Pil

Grand prizes: Daesang (note: BTS and TWICE weren’t able to attend the event)

Artist of the Year: Wanna One
Song of the Year: TWICE’s “Heart Shaker”
Album of the Year: BTS’s “Love Yourself: Answer”

Congratulations to all the winners!

Whats your reaction to this article?

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.