The 59th Baeksang Arts Awards Unveils Nomination List For Dramas And Movies, The Fierce Competition Catches Attention

Published Categorized as K-Dramas and K-Movies

After revealing when the biggest drama and movie award ceremony will be held, The 59th Baeksang Arts Awards has now unveiled the list of nominees!

Baeksang Arts Awards, the only comprehensive art awards ceremony in Korea that encompasses TV, film, and theater, places top priority on professionalism and fairness and selects candidates through a strict screening. In order to refer to various voices, a preliminary survey was conducted by 60 professional evaluators in the industry, and judges for each category appointed on the recommendation of a group of experts representing TV, film, and theater decide the final candidates through a fierce screening process.

The targets for this year’s screening are content provided on terrestrial, comprehensive, cable, OTT, and the web from April 1, 2022, to March 31, 2023, as well as Korean feature films and plays performed domestically during the same period.

On April 7, the award ceremony revealed the nominees’ list, take a look below!

Best New Actor

  • Kim Gun Woo – Netflix “The Glory”
  • Kim Min Ho – ENA “New Recruit”
  • Moon Sang Min – tvN “Under the Queen’s Umbrella”
  • Joo Jong Hyuk – ENA “Extraordinary Attorney Woo”
  • Hong Kyung – wavve “Weak Hero Class 1”

Best New Actress

  • Kim Hieora – Netflix “The Glory”
  • Noh Yoon Seo – tvN “Crash Course in Romance”
  • Lee Kyung Sung – JTBC “My Liberation Notes”
  • Joo Hyun Young – ENA “Exaordinary Attorney Woo”
  • Ha Yun Kyung – ENA “Extraordinary Attorney Woo”

Best Male Entertainer

  • Kian84
  • Kim Kyung Wook
  • Kim Jong Kook
  • Jun Hyun Moo
  • Hwang Jae Sung

Best Female Entertainer

  • Kim Min Kyung
  • Park Se Mi
  • Lee Soo Ji
  • Lee Eun Ji
  • Joo Hyun Young

Best Film

  • “Next Sohee”
  • “The Night Owl”
  • “Hansan: Rising Dragon”
  • “Hunt”
  • “Decision to Leave”

Best Drama

  • JTBC “My Liberation Notes”
  • Netflix “The Glory”
  • tvN “Our Blues”
  • ENA “Extraordinary Attorney Woo”
  • tvN “Little Women”

Best Variety Show

  • tvN “Earth Arcade”
  • Psick University “Psick Show”
  • Netflix “Physical: 100”
  • TVING “EXchange 2”
  • Coupang Play “SNL Korea 3”

Best Educational Show

  • wavve “National Office of Investigation” (literal title)
  • Netflix “In the Name of God: A Holy Betrayal”
  • EBS “Your Literacy Skills+” (literal title)
  • MBC Gyeongnam “Adult Kim Jang Ha” (literal title)
  • KBS “Hidden Earth: 3 Billion Years on the Korean Peninsula”

Best Actor

  • Son Suk Ku – JTBC “My Liberation Notes”
  • Lee Byung Hun – tvN “Our Blues”
  • Lee Sung Min – JTBC “Reborn Rich”
  • Jung Kyung Ho – tvN “Crash Course in Romance”
  • Choi Min Sik – Disney+ “Casino”

Best Actress

  • Kim Ji Won – JTBC “My Liberation Notes”
  • Kim Hye Soo – tvN “Under the Queen’s Umbrella”
  • Park Eun Bin – ENA “Extraordinary Attorney Woo”
  • Song Hye Kyo – Netflix “The Glory”
  • Suzy – Coupang Play “Anna”

Best Supporting Actor

  • Kang Ki Young – ENA “Extraordinary Attorney Woo”
  • Kim Do Hyun – JTBC “Reborn Rich”
  • Kim Jun Han – Coupang Play “Anna”
  • Park Sung Hoon – Netflix “The Glory”
  • Jo Woo Jin – Netflix “Narco-Saints”

Best Supporting Actress

  • Kim Shin Rok – JTBC “Reborn Rich”
  • Yeom Hye Ran – Netflix “The Glory”
  • Lee El – JTBC “My Liberation Notes”
  • Lim Ji Yeon – Netflix “The Glory”
  • Jung Eun Chae – Coupang Play “Anna”

Best Actor

  • Ma Dong Seok – “The Roundup”
  • Ryu Jun Yeol – “The Night Owl”
  • Park Hae Il – “Decision to Leave”
  • Song Kang Ho – “Broker”
  • Jung Woo Sung – “Hunt”

Best Actress

  • Bae Doo Na – “Next Sohee”
  • Yang Mal Bok – “The Apartment With Two Women”
  • Yum Jung Ah – “Life Is Beautiful”
  • Jeon Do Yeon – “Kill Boksoon”
  • Tang Wei – “Decision to Leave”

Best Supporting Actor

  • Kang Ki Young – “The Point Men”
  • Kim Sung Cheol – “The Night Owl”
  • Park Ji Hwan – “The Roundup”
  • Byun Yo Han – “Hansan: Rising Dragon”
  • Im Siwan – “Emergency Declaration”

Best Supporting Actress

  • Park Se Wan – “6/45”
  • Bae Doo Na – “Broker”
  • Ahn Eun Jin – “The Night Owl”
  • Yum Jung Ah – “Alienoid”
  • Lee Yeon – “Kill Boksoon”

Best New Actor

  • Noh Jae Won –”Missing Yoon”
  • Jinyoung – “Christmas Carol”
  • Byun Woo Seok – “20th Century Girl”
  • Seo In Guk – “Project Wolf Hunting”
  • Ong Seong Wu – “Life Is Beautiful”

Best New Actress

  • Go Yoon Jung – “Hunt”
  • Kim Si Eun – “Next Sohee”
  • Kim Hye Yoon – “The Girl On a Bulldozer”
  • IU – “Broker”
  • Ha Yun Kyung – “Gyeong Ah’s Daughter”

The 59th Baeksang Arts Awards will be held at Paradise City, Incheon from 5:30 pm on the 28th of this month, and will be broadcast live simultaneously on JTBC, JTBC2, and JTBC4, and digitally broadcast on TikTok.

Whats your reaction to this article?

By Hilda Moore

Hi all, my name is Hilda and I am a huge kdrama fan, I am responsible for covering news in relation to Kdramas on My all time fav kdramas are: My Mister, Hotel Del Luna and Kill Me, Heal Me.

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.